Superintendent Pollio Announces Assistant Superintendent of School Turnaround 

JCPS has identified Accelerated Improvement Schools and schools that have the potential to become Accelerated Improvement Schools under the Kentucky Accountability System. Each of these schools receives differentiated support from district staff and assistant superintendents. These schools are given special emphasis, support, and attention when the district makes decisions and assigns resources in order to foster success.


Current Accelerated Improvement Schools

Elementary Schools

Maupin Elementary

Wellington Elementary

Middle Schools

Frederick Law Olmsted Academy North

Knight Middle

Marion C. Moore School (Grades Six Through Eight)

Stuart Academy

Thomas Jefferson Middle

High Schools

Iroquois High

The Academy @ Shawnee

Waggener High

Western High

Valley High

Exited Priority Schools

Byck Elementary
Doss High
Fairdale High
Fern Creek High
Roosevelt-Perry Elementary
Seneca High
Southern High
Valley High
Waggener High
Western Middle School for the Arts
Westport Middle

Turnaround Training

Priority School Administrators and Teacher Leaders: National Institute for School Leadership (NISL)

Research on School Turnaround