Exceptional Child Education

Exceptional Child Education (ECE) programs are designed to meet the needs of the student whose approach to learning is different from that of his/her peers. The school District is committed to providing a high-quality education for the student with disabilities. A variety of programs, techniques, methods, and materials are available and utilized for individualized instruction. Exceptional Child Education programs are provided to students with disabilities in Comprehensive and special education programs facilities/agencies.

The curriculum is based on content and performance standards that have been established for all students. Each student's Individual Education Program (IEP) outlines the specially designed instruction needed. The following links have been provided to websites outlining the district supported curriculum in the areas of reading - elementary, math - elementary, math - middle, math - high and science K-8, as well as to support services such as the Homework Help [elementary - middle - high] and Practice Your Skills [elementary - middle - high], instructional practice websites for elementary, middle and high school students.

Individual Education Program (IEP) goals for the ECE student are directed toward addressing academic as well as social/emotional needs. Transition needs are also considered and addressed through the IEP goals (e.g., change in academic program, progressing from one level to another, career development skills).

ECE services are provided for students in these categorical areas:

  1. Autism (U)
  2. Deaf and Hard of Hearing (HI)
  3. Deaf/Blind (V)
  4. Developmental Delay (DD)
  5. Emotional Behavioral Disability (EBD)
  6. Functional Mental Disability (FMD)
  7. Mild Mental Disability (MMD)
  8. Multiple Disability (MD)
  9. Physical Disability and Other Health Impairment (PDOHI)
  10. Specific Learning Disability (SLD)
  11. Speech or Language Impairment (S/L)
  12. Traumatic Brain Injury(TBI)
  13. Visual Impairment (VI)

The students with autism, deaf/blind, developmental delay and traumatic brain injury are served within the programs listed.



Date Modified 7/11/14